ABC winners at Rural Press Club of Victoria Awards


Spread the love

Congratulations to all the ABC winners in the Rural Press Club of Victoria Awards.

Journalists and photographers from across regional and rural Victoria gathered in Geelong on Friday 27 October to celebrate their craft at the awards night, which was hosted by ABC Regional Statewide Drive presenter Prue Bentley.

ABC journalists, teams and programs were awarded for Media Outlet of the Year, Best News Story TV, Best Feature Story Radio, Best Feature Story Online, Best on Farm Story, Best Feature Story TV, Best Sports Story, and Best News Story Radio.

A multi award winner on the night was Tim Lee whose work for Landline won Best Feature Story TV and Best on Farm Story.

ABC Central Victoria was named Media Outlet of the Year for the team’s coverage of the October 2022 floods at Rochester and Echuca, ongoing problems at Malmsbury Youth Justice centre, phone scams and cemetery controversies.

Full list of ABC winners

Best News Story, Television

  • Bec Symons – ABC Gippsland – “When Daniel Hayes disappeared from the AFL, he didn’t share his pain – now he is suing his junior coach.”

Best News Story, Radio

  • Harrison Tippet – ABC News Geelong – “City of Greater Geelong budget black hole – Games concerns.”

Best Feature Story, Radio

  • Mim Hook – ABC Gippsland – “Revered and Devoured: Mutton Bird”

Best Feature Story, Online

  • Rachael Lucas – ABC Gippsland – “Traralgon’s nightlife booms”

Beat Feature Story, Television

  • Tim Lee – ABC Landline – “Satellite Stock Squad”

Best on Farm Story

  • Tim Lee – ABC Landline – “Glasshouse Growth: A family quest to grow tastier tomatoes”

Best Sports Story

  • Jeremy Storey Carter – National Regional Reporting Team – “Death of a footy club”

About the Author