13 July, 2024
Close this search box.


Spread the love

The dedication, compassion and ingenuity of healthcare staff and volunteers across the state has been celebrated at the 25th annual NSW Health Awards.

Professor Josephine Chow from South-Western Sydney Local Health District was awarded the Staff Member of the Year.

Member for Liverpool Charishma Kaliyanda said she was so pleased and proud to see Professor Chow recognised for her many contributions to the Liverpool community and to healthcare in South West Sydney.

“We have faced many challenges in health over the last few years and Professor Chow has been a leader in helping Liverpool navigate our way through”.

“As a growing centre for health innovation, its people like Professor Chow that will help take Liverpool to the next level”, Ms Kaliyanda said.

Health Minister Ryan Park congratulated the winners at last night’s ceremony, held at the Sydney International Convention Centre.

“I want to congratulate the winners and sincerely thank them for their contribution to our health system. I also want to recognise all our finalists across the 12 award categories – their creativity and passion truly shows the breadth of skill and innovation from our teams across the state,” Mr Park said.

Pleasingly, seven of the NSW Health Award winners are from rural and regional areas, highlighting the great care available to communities in the regions.”

Minister for Mental Health, Rose Jackson, presented the award for the Excellence in the Provision of Mental Health Services Awards to Naamuru.

“Naamuru is the state’s first public mental health unit that enables parents with mental illness to be admitted together with their baby, minimising trauma from separation. This is an incredibly important area of care and I want to commend Sydney Local Health District for their work in this space,” Ms Jackson said.

Minister for Medical Research, David Harris, extended his congratulations to the joint winners of the Health Research category – the Sydney Children’s Hospitals Network and Sydney Local Health District.

“I want to recognise the innovation of our staff members across Sydney Children’s Hospitals Network and Sydney Local health District, who have made big strides in neo-natal care and organ transplantation,” Mr Harris said.

The NSW Health Awards recognise personalised, sustainable, and digitally enabled programs that contribute to the wellbeing of patients and the community.

The categories for the 25th annual NSW Health Awards include:

  • Staff Member of the Year Award
  • Volunteer of the Year Award
  • Secretary’s Award
  • Environmental Sustainability Award
  • Excellence in Aboriginal Healthcare Award
  • Excellence in the Provision of Mental Health Services Award
  • Health Innovation Award
  • Health Research Award
  • Keeping People Healthy Award
  • Patient Safety First Award
  • People and Culture Award
  • Transforming Patient Experience Award

The full list of finalists and their projects is available on the NSW Health website.



About the Author