26 May, 2024
Close this search box.
Minns Labor Government opens up Sydney New Year’s Eve premium vantage points for the public


Spread the love

The Minns Government has today confirmed that NSW-government-owned sites around the Sydney Harbour foreshore will be free for the public this New Year’s Eve, fulfilling an election commitment.

The announcement comes as six thousand front row positions for the world-famous fireworks atop the Cahill Expressway go up for grabs from Tuesday with the launch of a free ticket ballot.

The move will allow more than 60,000 Sydneysiders and visitors to once again access some of the harbour’s best vantage points free of charge.

The Government is making fireworks viewing free again across Barangaroo Reserve, West Circular Quay (including First Fleet Park), Campbells Cove, Hickson Road Reserve and locations in the Royal Botanic Garden Sydney and The Domain, including the renowned Mrs Macquarie’s Point. Tickets at these locations last year ranged in price from $12.50 to $520.

Most of these vantage points will operate on a first-come, first-served basis, with monitored capacity limits in place. Each vantage point will be closed once capacity is reached.

Further NSW Government public domain venues within Sydney Harbour will also be free, with access managed through a ticket system. This includes NSW National Parks and Wildlife’s Bradleys Head, Strickland Estate, and the idyllic Clark Island, Me-Mel (Goat Island) and Shark Island.

Tickets at these NSW National Parks and Wildlife venues last year cost between $24 and $286. Instead, people who secure tickets this year will only pay a modest fee covering their return ferry voyage.

The Transport for NSW ‘NYE on the Cahill Expressway’ will remain the same as 2022, with free access managed through a ticket system. The family-friendly, alcohol and smoke-free celebration boasts live music, entertainment and an amazing view.

People can nominate their preference to attend either the 9pm or midnight session, with a maximum of five tickets available per ballot entry. Around 3,000 can take in the fireworks display at each session, with a dedicated accessibility viewing area available to up to 200 people.

The ballot for tickets to NYE on the Cahill Expressway 2023 opens at 9:00am Tuesday 5 September and will close on Friday 6 October at 11:59pm, with people invited to enter the draw to attend one of two sessions. 

Successful applicants will be informed by email between Monday, 16 October and Friday, 8 December 2023.

To enter the ballot, visit https://www.transport.nsw.gov.au/nye-cahill-expressway-2023

The Government has provided limited exemptions to two charities, the Taronga Conservation Society of Australia and the Royal Botanic Gardens Foundation, allowing their annual New Year’s Eve fundraisers to continue. The not-for-profit events underpin the conservation and scientific work of the two important NSW public institutions.

The Royal Botanic Gardens’ limited exemption allows its Foundation and Friends Picnic, established in 1996, to take place once again on the Mare and Foal Lawn. The picnic also serves as the Royal Botanic Gardens’ designated accessible viewing area, with complimentary tickets issued via a public ballot to people with a disability.

Planning in all precincts is now underway. Access arrangements, including free tickets, will be made available over time via the City of Sydney’s website.

City of Sydney will continue to put on the world-famous firework display on December 31, ensuring Sydney maintains its globally recognised reputation as the New Year’s capital of the world.

Sydney Harbour will once again be the focal point with two fireworks shows, the 9pm fireworks followed by the dazzling midnight show.

NSW Government agencies including the NSW Police are already working together to ensure appropriate safety and security measures will be in place across the city to ensure revellers can welcome in 2024 safely.

Chris Minns

Premier of New South Wales

John Graham

Special Minister of State

Minister for Roads

Minister for the Arts

Minister for Music and the Night-time Economy

Minister for Jobs and Tourism

Penny Sharpe

Minister for Climate Change

Minister for Energy

Minister for the Environment and Minister for Heritage

Paul Scully

Minister for Planning and Public Spaces

About the Author