18 June, 2024
Close this search box.
ABC programs take home 17 AACTA Awards


Spread the love

The ABC was the most awarded network claiming an unrivalled 17 of the nation’s top screen awards, the AACTAs as the industry honoured Australia’s best and brightest screen talent.  

Mystery Road: Origin rewrote the AACTA record books this year. The series has tallied 40 nominations across its three seasons, making it the most-nominated program in AACTAs history.  

The popular Australian series, produced by Bunya Productions took home seven gongs at this year’s ceremony in Sydney, winning Best Drama Series, with Mark Coles Smith taking out Best Lead Actor and Tuuli Narkle Best Lead Actress. Dylan River won Best Direction in a Drama or Comedy, Tyson Perkins was honoured for Best Cinematography in Television, Nicholas Holmes for Best Editing in Television and Luke Mynott, Wes Chew, Trevor Hope, and Dylan Barfield for Best Sound in Television. 

Recent BAFTA award-winning children’s program Bluey (Ludo Studio) won the Best Children’s Program and You Can’t Ask That’s Kirk Docker won the award for Best Direction in Non-fiction Television. 

Gardening Australia was named Best Lifestyle Program and Savage River won Best Original Score in Television (Bryony Marks). The cinematic and musical odyssey River picked up two awards, for Best Documentary and Best Original Score in a Documentary. 

Other ABC winners were Shaun Micallef’s Mad as Hell, Gardening Australia, Bluey, Old People’s Home for Teenagers, You Can’t Ask That, Miriam Margolyes: Australia Unmasked, Savage River while Hard Quiz host and fan favourite Tom Gleeson was named Best Comedy Performer. 

“Congratulations to our talented ABC teams and production partners on the incredible success at this year’s AACTA Awards. Not only is the ABC the largest commissioner of Australian screen content, I’m delighted to see the quality of the work and the teams behind the shows recognised in this year’s awards. Congratulations to all nominees and winners.” said Jennifer Collins, ABC Acting Director of Entertainment & Specialist.  

You can stream all the ABC winning programs on ABC iview: AACTA Awards 2022: Winners & Nominees : ABC iview 


Best Drama Series 

  • Mystery Road: Origin, Greer Simpkin, David Jowsey
    Bunya Productions / ABC 

Best Comedy Program 

  • Shaun Micallef’s Mad as Hell
    Peter Beck, Beth Hart, Shaun Micallef
    ITV Studios Australia / ABC 

Best Factual Entertainment Program 

  • Old People’s Home for Teenagers
    Debbie Cuell, Tony De La Pena, Paulo Vivan, Brooke Hulsman
    Endemol Shine Australia / ABC 

Best Lead Actress in a Drama  

  • Tuuli Narkle
    Mystery Road: Origin 

Best Lead Actor in a Drama  

  • Mark Coles Smith
    Mystery Road: Origin 

Best Comedy Performer 

  • Tom Gleeson
    Hard Quiz 

Best Lifestyle Program 

  • Gardening Australia
    Gill Lomas 

Best Documentary or Factual Program 

  • Miriam Margolyes: Australia Unmasked
    Laurie Critchley, Bethan Arwel-Lewis
    Southern Pictures / ABC 

Best Children’s Program 

  • Bluey
    Charlie Aspinwall, Sam Moor, Daley Pearson
    Ludo Studio / ABC 

Best Direction in Drama or Comedy 

  • Dylan River
    Mystery Road: Origin – Episode 3 

Best Direction in Nonfiction Television 

  • You Can’t Ask That – Episode 1
    Kirk Docker 

Best Cinematography in Television 

  • Mystery Road: Origin – Episode 3
    Tyson Perkins 

Best Editing in Television 

  • Mystery Road: Origin – Episode 3
    Nicholas Holmes 

Best Original Score in Television 

  • Savage River – Episode 1
    Bryony Marks 

Best Sound in Television 

  • Mystery Road: Origin – Episode 3
    Luke Mynott, Wes Chew, Trevor Hope, Dylan Barfield 

Best Documentary 

  • River
    Jennifer Peedom (Dir.), Joseph Nizeti, Jo-anne McGowan, John Smithson
    Stranger Than Fiction Films 

Best Original Score in a Documentary 

  • River
    Richard Tognetti, William Barton, Piers Burbrook de Vere 

Media contact 

Laura Todd, ABC Communications

We acknowledge Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples as the First Australians and Traditional Custodians of the lands where we live, learn and work. 

About the Author