ABC’s Gabriella Marchant awarded SA Journalist of the Year


Spread the love
Photo of journalist Gabriella Marchant with her awards

Gabriella Marchant, 2022 SA Journalist of the Year

ABC News journalist Gabriella Marchant has been named Journalist of the Year and won five other awards at the SA Media Awards, announced on 25 June.

Marchant’s report “Rhys’s Final Wish”, about a terminally ill teenager and voluntary assisted dying, was awarded in the categories of Coverage of Public Service Journalism, Best TV Current Affairs or Feature, Best Print/Text News Report and Best News or Lifestyle Feature.

She was also named Best Rural/Regional Journalist for her body of work for ABC News.

Says SA State Editor Claire Mackay: “Gabby’s story “Rhys’s Final Wish” is an outstanding example of journalism. It’s a deeply moving and personal story on a confronting topic. Gabby was praised for being able to tell this unforgettable story with compassion and care.”

The judges said the work moved them to tears. “Gabriella is a skilful and compassionate storyteller. Her strong sense of social justice underpins her body of work.

“Not only has Gabriella highlighted community welfare issues and policy failings, but she has also shown how locals are enacting or proposing their own solutions. Her adherence to ethical principles struck a perfect balance between impact and sensitivity.”

Patrick Martin and Nick Harmsen won the Investigative Journalism award for their work “SA Parliament’s expenses scandal continued”; Evelyn Leckie and Lincoln Rothall won the Visual Storytelling category for “A line in the sand”; and Bec Whetham won the Max Fitschen Award for Best Young Journalist.

Full list of ABC finalists and winners

Journalist of the Year: 

  • Gabriella Marchant, ABC News

Best Rural/Regional Journalist 

  • Shari Hams, ABC News, “Regional Doctor Shortage Crisis”
  • Gabriella Marchant, ABC News, ABC Online and ABC Radio The World Today, “Body of work” WINNER

Coverage of Public Service Journalism 

  • Gabriella Marchant, ABC Online and 7.30, “Rhys’s Final Wish” WINNER

Sports Journalism 

  • Sara Tomevska, ABC News, ABC News Channel and ABC Online,“Robbie Young breaks his silence”

Investigative Journalism 

  • Patrick Martin and Nicholas Harmsen, ABC, “SA Parliament’s expenses scandal continued” WINNER

Visual Storytelling 

  • Lincoln Rothall and Evelyn Leckie, ABC News, “A line in the sand” WINNER
  • Gabriella Marchant and Carl Saville, ABC Online and 7.30, “Rhys’s Final Wish”

Best Radio News/Current Affairs or Feature Report 

  • Rhett Burnie, ABC Radio National, ABC Adelaide and ABC Local Radio, “NDIS Cuts”
  • Sara Tomevska, ABC, “Boarding school blues”

Best TV Current Affairs or Feature 

  • Isabel Dayman, ABC News, “Rachel High’s Graduation”
  • Gabriella Marchant, 7.30, “Rhys’ Final Wish TV” WINNER
  • Sara Tomevska, ABC News, ABC News Channel and ABC Online, “NDIS Barriers”

Best Print/Text News Report 

  • Isabel Dayman, ABC Online, “The SA Liberal Party’s Nation Builder”
  • Gabriella Marchant, ABC Online, “Rhys’s Final Wish Online” WINNER

Best News or Lifestyle Feature

  • Gabriella Marchant, ABC Online, “Rhys’s Final Wish Online” WINNER

The Max Fatchen Award for Best Young Journalist 

  • Bec Whetham, ABC Landline and ABC Online, “Stories of hope” WINNER

Media contact: Sally Jackson | ABC Communications | [email protected]

About the Author