UAP wins final Victorian Senate seat


Spread the love

The United Australia Party has won the final Victorian Senate seat, effectively solidifying the make-up of the new-look upper house.

Ralph Babet took the sixth spot from Liberal Greg Mirabella, who was sworn into the Senate only in February after filling a casual vacancy left by former president Scott Ryan.

Senator Mirabella is the husband of former Victorian Liberal MP Sophie Mirabella.

Mr Babet, also known as Deej Babet, worked as a Melbourne real estate agent before taking a tilt at the upper house.

UAP founder Clive Palmer reportedly spent more than $100 million on the national election campaign, with the Victorian Senate seat his sole success.

ralph babet
Ralph Babet will be the United Australia Party’s Victorian senator. Photo: UAP

Mr Palmer congratulated Mr Babet on his victory in a post on Facebook on Monday.

“As a former business owner, Ralph understands at the grass-roots level what is required for economic prosperity in this country,” he said.

“He will take the fight to the mainstream parties to deliver a better economic future for all Australian families.

“The United Australia Party in the Senate will always ensure that the major parties do not forget about the hardships faced by Australian families.”

Mr Palmer also revealed that former NSW MP Craig Kelly has been appointed UAP’s national director. Mr Kelly, a one-time Liberal MP who defected to UAP, lost his seat at the May 21 election.

Victoria’s other Senate spots when to the Liberals’ Sarah Henderson, the Nationals’ Bridget McKenzie, Labor’s Linda White and Jana Stewart, and the Greens’ Lidia Thorpe.

Both Labor candidates will replace outgoing members.

The Australian Electoral Commission has also declared the NSW senators, with the Greens taking a seat from Labor.

The Liberals’ Marise Payne and Jim Molan, and Labor’s Deb O’Neill and Jenny McAllister were all re-elected, while the Nationals’ Ross Cadell was elected on a joint Coalition ticket, and the Greens’ David Shoebridge was promoted from NSW parliament.

The expected tally of the Senate’s 76 seats includes 32 for the Coalition, 26 for Labor, 12 for the Greens, two for both One Nation and the Jacqui Lambie Network, and one for the United Australia Party and independent David Pocock.

Only Western Australia is left to be officially declared. That is due on Monday afternoon.

In Victoria, the Coalition suffered a 3.6 per cent swing against it, while Labor and the UAP recorded small increases in their votes. There was a 3.2 per cent swing against the Greens.

In NSW, there was a 1.8 per cent swing against the Coalition, a 0.6 per cent swing to Labor and a 2.7 per cent swing to the Greens.

– with AAP

The post UAP wins final Victorian Senate seat appeared first on The New Daily.